Old Dominion’s “One Man Band” receives ASCAP country music song of the year honors. The hit was co-written by band members Matthew Ramsey, Trevor Rosen and Brad Tursi and top songwriter Josh Osborne.

The four songwriters will be presented with the honor in a surprise virtual visit from Paul Williams, ASCAP chairman of the board and president. The presentation will be featured on ASCAP social media later today, along with an exclusive performance of the song by the four winners.

Warner Chappell Music earns the ASCAP country music publisher of the year award for the eighth consecutive time for publishing such hits as “One Man Band,” “10,000 Hours,” “After a Few,” “Raised on Country” and “God’s Country.”

Ben Vaughn, president of Warner Chappell Music Nashville, will accept the award on video from his car in front of ASCAP Nashville headquarters. The video wraps up with a montage of “thank yous” from 16 Warner Chappell Music team members.

Williams will kick off the social media event with special remarks for the Nashville community on video: “This past year the world needed your music more than ever. And you delivered the goods…Your songs lifted our spirits, brought meaning to our lives and inspired us to keep going.”

Using the hashtag #ASCAPAwards, exclusive honoree photos, videos, acceptance speeches and even a few surprises will be posted @ASCAP on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Digital content will be updated daily.

The 2020 ASCAP Country Music Awards will also feature two special performances on @ASCAP. Carly Pearce, a CMA Awards nominee for new artist of the year, will deliver an acoustic performance of her CMA-nominated hit “I Hope You’re Happy Now” and Matt Stell will share exclusive performance footage of “Prayed for You.”

A complete list of winners can be found on the ASCAP website: ascap.com/countryawards20.


Choose your Reaction!
Leave a Comment