Chris Stapleton announced today (Aug. 27) that he’s Starting Over with his forthcoming fourth studio album, which he’ll release on Nov. 13 via Mercury Records Nashville.

Along with the announcement, he dropped the first title track “Starting Over” that he co-wrote with Mike Henderson. Although he finished the whole album in late February, before the worldwide shut down due to the coronavirus pandemic, Stapleton’s 14 fresh songs exalt life’s simplest pleasures while digging deeper into its gravest problems. But three of those songs are covers of John Fogerty‘s “Joy Of My Life” and Guy Clark‘s “Worry B Gone” and “Old Friends.”

He recorded Starting Over, which is available for pre-order/pre-save here, at his second home over at Nashville’s RCA Studio A with some collaborators old and new. He worked with his wife Morgane Stapleton, who sings and plays tambourine on the new record, and longtime bassist J.T. Cure and drummer Derek Mixon. But the special guests joining him are Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers guitarist Mike Campbell and keyboardist Benmont Tench, steel guitarist Paul Franklin and All Voices Choir, who are featured on “Watch You Burn.”

Stapleton will eventually take these songs on the road for his postponed All-American Road Show, which was originally slated to start in March and will now begin in April 2021 with one show scheduled for November 2020. The 44-stop route will feature a special “Concert for Kentucky” at the University of Kentucky’s first-ever show held on its Kroger Field, featuring special guests Willie Nelson & Family, Sheryl Crow and Yola. All of the concert’s net proceeds will benefit the Stapleton family’s Outlaw State of Kind Hometown Fund, which supports local and national organizations impacting Kentucky with a focus on music and art education.

Listen to “Starting Over” and see the Starting Over tracklist below.

[embedded content]

Starting Over tracklist:

1. “Starting Over”
2. “Devil Always Made Me Think Twice”
3. “Cold”
4. “When I’m With You”
5. “Arkansas”
6. “Joy Of My Life”
7. “Hillbilly Blood”
8. “Maggie’s Song”
9. “Whiskey Sunrise”
10. “Worry B Gone”
11. “Old Friends”
12. “Watch You Burn”
13. “You Should Probably Leave”
14. “Nashville, TN”


Choose your Reaction!
Leave a Comment