The show will consist of outdoor performances in and around Nashville.

The CMT Music Awards, which bills itself as country music’s only entirely fan-voted awards show, has pushed the date of this year’s show back one week, from Oct. 14 to Oct. 21. That way, it won’t be competing with the Billboard Music Awards, which are set for Oct. 14. (On the new date, it will be competing with the Billboard Latin Music Awards, but there is no overlap between the two shows.)

The CMT Music Awards were originally slated to be held at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, which has been their home for every year but one since 2009. But a press release released Thursday (Sept. 10) said the show will consist of “epic outdoor performances in and around Music City.”

The show will air on CMT, with a six-network simulcast across MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network, Pop and TV Land (all ViacomCBS Entertainment & Youth Brands). The show will air at 8 p.m. ET.

The host and nominations will be announced in the next two weeks.  Little Big Town hosted the show in 2018 and 2019.

The CMT Music Awards will be midway between two other country music awards shows. The rescheduled ACM Awards are set for Sept. 16 at three Nashville venues — the Grand Ole Opry House, Ryman Auditorium and Bluebird Café. The CMA Awards have yet to announce their date or venue. Their show last year was held on Nov. 13 at Bridgestone Arena.

The CMT Music Awards have aired on CMT since 2001, when they were called the TNN & CMT Country Weekly Music Awards (and also aired on TNN). From 2002-04, they were called the CMT Flameworthy Video Music Awards. The name was (mercifully) shortened to the CMT Music Awards starting in 2005.

Carrie Underwood has won 20 CMT Music Awards, more than any other artist. She has won the top award, video of the year, a record seven times, for “Before He Cheats,” “Cowboy Casanova,” “Good Girl,” “Blown Away,” “See You Again,” “Something in the Water” and “Cry Pretty.”

Keith Urban and Taylor Swift are runners-up in the video of the year category, with three wins each. Toby Keith is a two-time category champ. Alan Jackson, Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw and Blake Shelton have each won once in the category since 2001.

For more information, visit CMT.com.


Choose your Reaction!
Leave a Comment